

WORLD SPEEDSURFERS CHAMPIONS ARE CROWNED

After an exciting week full of races and battles on the water, a very successful Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge has come to an end. After several years without an official World Championship, this year the Dunkeberck GPS Speed Challenge hosted the ISWC World Championship, with more than 50 competitors from 10 different countries fighting for the World Crown in both the Men's and Women's categories.

During the five days of competition we had 5 rounds of 1 hour each in duration where both the public present at the beach and those following via social media, where able to enjoy great action on the water with all riders sailing as close to the limits as possible, trying to get that extra speed needed to become a the 2016 ISWC World Champion. With a wind average of 25 knots the most chosen board type was a 56cm wide speed board with sails ranging from 6.2m to 7.0m.

Winning in the open category with a clear margin was Bjorn Dunkerbeck, on his fastest run reaching 38.48 knots (72km/h) over 250m of followed by John Skye from the UK and in 3rd place Markus Emanuelsson. The women's fleet was dominated and won by Zara Davis, 2nd was Maria Jose Medina, 3rd was Anne Schindler and in 4th, promising 14-year-old Alexa Escherich.

Apart from the World Championship titles, awards were given for the winners of the Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge and the 2016 ISWC champions in the following classes, with these results:

Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge and 2016 ISWC champion Masters (35 plus): Markus Emanuelsson

Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge and the 2016 ISWC champion Junior (<14): Liam Dunkerbeck

Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge and the 2016 ISWC champions Youth (<18): Aron Etmon (who had a great week finishing 6th in the overall world rankings)

It has been a great week bringing Speedsailors from all over the world together and for that we would like to thank our Sponsors and partners: Red Bull, D-Lab, GERMEDICUM, R2-Hotels, PayPal Spain, Chris Benz watches, ProteGear, the municipality of Pajara, Patronato de Turismo de Fuerteventura, Matas Bay surf center, E11 Dunkerbeck-Eyewear, BD Surf School and GPS- Speedsurfing.com who made the event possible.

We are looking forward to the next edition of Dunkerbeck GPS Speed Challenge and will announce the new dates as soon as possible.

For further information, heat-results or high res. pictures please contact:

Anne Schindler

gpssc@dunkerbeck.com or e11bdunkerbeck.anne@gmail.com





FUERTEVENTURA

MATAS BLANCAS

Final ranking on Sunday 05-06 - Women

Rank	Name	Sponsors	Heat1	Heat2	Heat3	Heat4	Heat5	Discard	Total
1	Zara Davis	RRD, Al360, Simmerstyle, Walnutgrove Clinic, Sonntag Fins, Synergy Worldwide	0,7	0,7	0,7	0,7	0,7	-0,7	2,8
2	Maria Jose Medina Hernandez	-	3	3	2	2	2	-3	9
3	Anne Schindler	BD Surf School, ZULU custom fins	2	2	3	3	3	-3	10
4	Alexa Escherich	JP , Point 7, Maui Ultrafins	4	4	4	4	4	-4	16





FUERTEVENTURA MATAS BLANCAS

Final ranking on Sunday 05-06 - Men

Rank	Name	Sponsors	Heat1	Heat2	Heat3	Heat4	Heat5	Discard	Total
1	Björn Dunkerbeck	Red Bull, Starboard, Serverne, BD Surf School, JuicePlus, Siam Park, E11 Dunkerbeck- Eyewear, Ocean & Earth	0,7	0,7	0,7	3	0,7	-3	2,8
2	John Skye	RRD, F-hot, Bathlia	6	3	3	0,7	2	-6	8,7
3	Markus Emanuelsson	RRD, Surfers	3	4	2	2	4	-4	11
4	Twan Verseput	Starboard, Severne, Sonntag-Fins, Surfcenter, Fieber, Dox Imagemakers	2	2	5	4	5	-5	13
5	Jim Crossly	Loftsails, RRD	11	7	7	6	3	-11	23
6	Marcus Richardson	C3C, RRD, ,Surfers, NP	4	6	9	5	9	-9	24
7	Aron Etmon	Dunkerbeck Eyewear, Severne, Starboard, Netvision NV, Princess Traveller, Insel Air	5	12	4	9	11	-12	29
8	Anders Björkqvist	Hertz, Tenson, Carbon Art, Loft Sails	7	8	8	11	12	-12	34
9	Kai Kaufmann	RRD	9	10	11	13	7	-13	37
10	Nick Vardalachos	Point-7, Patrick, 800surfshop.com	16	13	10	8	8	-16	39
11	Minos Efstathiadis	Spin Out, Kos, GA, Tabou	14	9	6	12	15	-15	41
12	Ralf Ewers	Fanatic, Point-7, Tina	22	5	14	7	16	-22	42

13	Oliver Schaarschmidt	Patrick, OceanBrands	19	11	12	16	14	-19	53
14	Will Trossell	Agent Eight, Lomax	15	14	16	15	13	-16	57
15	Stefan Csaky	Cross zone, Fanatic Austria, Travelworld4you	10	15	13	20	42	-42	58
16	Roberto Hofmann	Starboard, Loftsails, Maui Ultrafins, Aeron	18	18	18	19	6	-19	60
17	Wessel Douma	Teuntje de slak, Sportal	8	20	15	23	19	-23	62
18	José Pina	-	13	25	17	21	18	-25	69
19	Manfred Fuchs	Sailloft, Fanatic, ION	23	16	42**	10	21	-42	70
20	Uros Derenda	World of windsurf	17	19	42	17	27	-42	80
21	Raffaello Gardelli	Severne, Zulu fins	12	17	42	14	42	-42	85
22	Arnaud Daniel	Saint Barth Fun Cup	24	28	22	26	22	-28	94
23	Juan Herrero*	Onexe, No oil platforms in canary islands,	25	31	21	27	24	-31	97
24	Markus Kortas*	Fitness first, AM sport, Reiseecke.24, Chiemsee	21	29	25	22	42	-42	97
25	Gerard Ten Berge*	Loftsails italy, MUF	26	24	23	24	42	-42	97
26	Oleksandr Polyvanov	-	27	27	24	30	23	-30	101
27	Christian Benzing	Chris Benz Watches, Dunckerbeck eyewear, Lessacher fins	30	26	20	33	26	-33	102
28	Matthias Popp	-	42	32	19	28	25	-42	104
29	Matic Derenda	World of windsurf	42	21	42	25	17	-42	105
30	Philippe Bru	ION, Fanatic, hoan, e11	42	22	42**	42	0	-42	106
31	Patrick Oberlender	Starboard, Severne, Surf and kite Dusseldorf	42	42	42	18	10	-42	112
32	Marcus Damsel	-	28	33	26	31	28	-33	113

33	Andre Toth	-	20	23	42	29	42	-42	114
34	Pasqual Becq	-	33	36	42	35	30	-42	134
35	Julian Bru*	-	42	42	42	32	20	-42	136
36	Ray Raimundo Sala Albert*	-	31	34	42	42	29	-42	136
37	Alberto Possati	Starboard, Serverne	29	30	42	42	42	-42	143
38	Maximilian Lesniewski	Watersports Fuerteventura	32	35	42	42	42	-42	151
39	Trevor Lyn Whatford	-	42	42	42	34	38	-42	156
40	Ivan Etmon	-	42	42	42	42	42	-42	168
40	Paco Remero	Big Blue	42	42	42	42	42	-42	168

^{*} Rank is based on highest achieved 250 meters speed during the event ** DSQ

